Rice University logoiee

Kenneth J. Button Prize


The Committee is pleased to announce the winner of the 2011 Kenneth J. Button Prize: Professor Daniel Grischkowsky from Oklahoma State University, who is awarded the prize "for pioneering contributions to the development of terahertz time-domain spectroscopy."  The prize will be awarded at a special plenary session on Wednesday, October 5, 2011, at the IRMMW-THz conference in Houston.



In 1990 an award called "The Infrared and Millimeter Wave Prize", to be awarded "for outstanding contributions to the field of infrared and millimeter waves", was initiated by the Program Council (now known as the International Organizing Committee) and awarded in the first instance to Kenneth J. Button, founder of the conference series. The following year it was agreed by the Program Council to rename the Prize "The Kenneth J Button Prize" in recognition of Ken Button's outstanding contributions to the community, both as a scientist and as the initiator and driving force of this series of conferences. It is fully described in interview reflection paper. The criterion for awarding the Prize was later changed to its present form: "for outstanding contributions to the science of the electromagnetic spectrum".


Any scientist active in the field of the Conference may make a nomination for the Button Prize. The closing date for receipt of nominations by the Institute of Physics in London each year will be the same as the deadline for submission of abstracts to the conference, normally about six months before the conference. The closing date will be strictly observed. Any nominations received after that date will be carried forward to the following year. Nominations for the 2012 Prize will be due in the spring of 2011.

For more information on the nomination procedure, please click here.